You are here

Home
"Worthless Matter"

Date & Time

Friday, May 16, 2014 - 10:00am to Saturday, June 28, 2014 - 6:00pm

Location

Event Details

Through her drawings, sculptures, and installations, artist Hollis Hammonds explores consumerist culture by examining accumulation, hoarding, and collecting. When she survived a house fire in her teens, the remaining piles of burnt keepsakes represented to her the worthlessness of superficial possessions. Today, her post-apocalyptic illustrations deal with memory, material consumption, waste, catastrophe, and superficial loss. Redux Contemporary Art Center, 136 St. Philip St. Tuesday-Friday, 10am-6pm; Saturday, noon-5pm. Free. (843)722-0697, www.reduxstudios.org

Upcoming Events

Wednesday, August 3, 2016 - 9:00am to Sunday, August 7, 2016 - 9:00am
Friday, August 5, 2016 - 7:00pm
Tuesday, August 23, 2016 - 10:00am to Thursday, April 27, 2017 - 10:00am
Wednesday, August 3, 2016 - 6:00pm
Wednesday, August 10, 2016 -
5:30pm to 7:30pm
Saturday, July 30, 2016 - 12:00pm to Sunday, July 31, 2016 - 1:00am
Friday, July 29, 2016 - 5:00pm
Friday, July 29, 2016 - 5:00pm
Friday, July 29, 2016 - 5:00pm
Friday, July 29, 2016 - 5:00pm

Pages