You are here

Home
"John Westmark; Narratives" & "Beyond the Darkroom: Photography in the 21st Century"

Date & Time

Friday, April 4, 2014 - 10:00am to Sunday, July 13, 2014 - 5:00pm

Location

Gibbes Museum of Art

Event Details

The Gibbes Museum debuts two spectacular new exhibits this month, examining the creative processes of painting and photography in contemporary Southern art and showcasing the great artistic talent of our region today. Contemporary artist John Westmark’s works incorporate fabrics and sewing patterns weaved into large-scale paintings and spark a sense of nostalgia through their narratives. The photography exhibit featuring works by Carrie Mae Weems and Stephen Marc, on the other hand, propels visitors into the here and now, examining the ways in which the industry has become digitized.

Tuesday-Saturday, 10am-5pm; Sunday, 1-5pm. $9; $7 student/senior/military; $5 ages six -12; free for child under six. (843)722-2706, gibbesmuseum.org

 

Upcoming Events

Friday, April 21, 2017 - 9:00am to Sunday, April 23, 2017 - 9:00am
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 7:00am to Sunday, April 30, 2017 - 7:00am
Friday, April 7, 2017 - 9:00am to Sunday, April 9, 2017 - 12:00pm
Monday, April 10, 2017 - 9:00am to Friday, April 14, 2017 - 9:00am
Thursday, April 20, 2017 - 6:00pm to Sunday, April 23, 2017 - 12:00pm
Sunday, April 23, 2017 (All day)
Saturday, April 1, 2017 - 9:00am to Sunday, April 9, 2017 - 9:00am
Friday, April 7, 2017 - 1:00pm
Friday, April 14, 2017 - 7:30pm to Sunday, April 30, 2017 - 3:00pm
Saturday, April 15, 2017 - 10:30am

Pages