You are here

Home
"John Westmark; Narratives" & "Beyond the Darkroom: Photography in the 21st Century"

Date & Time

Friday, April 4, 2014 - 10:00am to Sunday, July 13, 2014 - 5:00pm

Location

Gibbes Museum of Art

Event Details

The Gibbes Museum debuts two spectacular new exhibits this month, examining the creative processes of painting and photography in contemporary Southern art and showcasing the great artistic talent of our region today. Contemporary artist John Westmark’s works incorporate fabrics and sewing patterns weaved into large-scale paintings and spark a sense of nostalgia through their narratives. The photography exhibit featuring works by Carrie Mae Weems and Stephen Marc, on the other hand, propels visitors into the here and now, examining the ways in which the industry has become digitized.

Tuesday-Saturday, 10am-5pm; Sunday, 1-5pm. $9; $7 student/senior/military; $5 ages six -12; free for child under six. (843)722-2706, gibbesmuseum.org

 

Upcoming Events

Thursday, May 18, 2017 - 7:00pm
Saturday, May 20, 2017 - 6:00pm
Sunday, May 21, 2017 - 6:00pm
Monday, May 22, 2017 - 12:30pm
Wednesday, May 24, 2017 - 11:00am
Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 10:00am
Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 8:00am
Saturday, May 6, 2017 - 10:00am
Friday, May 12, 2017 - 7:00pm
Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 7:00am

Pages