You are here

Home
"John Westmark; Narratives" & "Beyond the Darkroom: Photography in the 21st Century"

Date & Time

Friday, April 4, 2014 - 10:00am to Sunday, July 13, 2014 - 5:00pm

Location

Gibbes Museum of Art

Event Details

The Gibbes Museum debuts two spectacular new exhibits this month, examining the creative processes of painting and photography in contemporary Southern art and showcasing the great artistic talent of our region today. Contemporary artist John Westmark’s works incorporate fabrics and sewing patterns weaved into large-scale paintings and spark a sense of nostalgia through their narratives. The photography exhibit featuring works by Carrie Mae Weems and Stephen Marc, on the other hand, propels visitors into the here and now, examining the ways in which the industry has become digitized.

Tuesday-Saturday, 10am-5pm; Sunday, 1-5pm. $9; $7 student/senior/military; $5 ages six -12; free for child under six. (843)722-2706, gibbesmuseum.org

 

Upcoming Events

Friday, October 7, 2016 - 5:00pm to Tuesday, November 1, 2016 - 10:00am
Saturday, October 22, 2016 - 6:00am
Saturday, October 15, 2016 - 4:00pm
Sunday, October 2, 2016 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, October 19, 2016 (All day) to Sunday, October 23, 2016 (All day)
Thursday, September 29, 2016 - 6:00pm
Sunday, October 2, 2016 - 4:00pm
Friday, October 7, 2016 - 4:00pm to Sunday, October 9, 2016 - 5:00pm
Saturday, October 29, 2016 - 10:00am
Sunday, October 16, 2016 - 3:00pm

Pages