You are here

Home
Vivaldi & Piazzolla: Four Seasons

Date & Time

Saturday, November 10, 2012 - 7:30pm

Location

Dock Street Theatre, 135 Church St.

Event Details

This concert will feature CSO Concertmaster, Yuriy Bekker, and his teacher, Herbert Greenberg, on violins to personify the profound impact of history and experience on new generations of music. As Concertmaster was inspired by his teacher, so was Ástor Pantaleón Piazzolla's Four Seasons of Buenos Aires influenced by The Four Seasons of Antonio Vivaldi. While both pieces include a set of four compositions, the centuries that separate them contrast beautifully. Piazzolla, a 20th century Argentine composer, scored the pieces for his quintet including elements of tango and traditional South American sounds to give the impression of the four seasons in Buenos Aires. Vivaldi's best-known work, which is among the most popular pieces of Baroque music, is a set of four violin concertos composed in 1723. Dock Street Theatre, 135 Church St. Saturday, 7:30pm. $40; $35 advance. (843)723-7528, www.charlestonsymphony.org

Upcoming Events

Saturday, May 28, 2016 - 10:00am to Sunday, October 9, 2016 - 10:00am
Saturday, May 28, 2016 - 12:00pm to Sunday, June 26, 2016 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, May 25, 2016 - 10:00am
Friday, May 27, 2016 - 6:00pm
Wednesday, June 1, 2016 - 6:00pm to Sunday, June 5, 2016 - 5:00pm
Friday, May 27, 2016 - 11:00am to Sunday, June 12, 2016 - 1:00pm
Thursday, June 2, 2016 - 7:00pm
Friday, June 3, 2016 - 7:00pm
Friday, June 3, 2016 - 9:00pm
Friday, June 3, 2016 - 8:00pm

Pages