You are here

Home
Vivaldi & Piazzolla: Four Seasons

Date & Time

Saturday, November 10, 2012 - 7:30pm

Location

Dock Street Theatre, 135 Church St.

Event Details

This concert will feature CSO Concertmaster, Yuriy Bekker, and his teacher, Herbert Greenberg, on violins to personify the profound impact of history and experience on new generations of music. As Concertmaster was inspired by his teacher, so was Ástor Pantaleón Piazzolla's Four Seasons of Buenos Aires influenced by The Four Seasons of Antonio Vivaldi. While both pieces include a set of four compositions, the centuries that separate them contrast beautifully. Piazzolla, a 20th century Argentine composer, scored the pieces for his quintet including elements of tango and traditional South American sounds to give the impression of the four seasons in Buenos Aires. Vivaldi's best-known work, which is among the most popular pieces of Baroque music, is a set of four violin concertos composed in 1723. Dock Street Theatre, 135 Church St. Saturday, 7:30pm. $40; $35 advance. (843)723-7528, www.charlestonsymphony.org

Upcoming Events

Thursday, October 6, 2016 - 8:00am to Sunday, October 9, 2016 - 8:00am
Thursday, October 6, 2016 - 5:00pm to Sunday, October 30, 2016 - 2:00pm
Friday, October 7, 2016 - 5:00pm
Friday, October 7, 2016 - 5:00pm
Saturday, October 8, 2016 - 9:00am
Thursday, October 13, 2016 - 8:00pm
Friday, October 14, 2016 - 4:00pm to Saturday, October 15, 2016 - 4:00pm
Thursday, October 20, 2016 - 10:00am to Sunday, April 30, 2017 - 12:00pm
Friday, October 21, 2016 - 11:00am to Saturday, December 10, 2016 - 11:00am
Saturday, October 22, 2016 - 10:00am to Sunday, January 15, 2017 - 10:00am

Pages