You are here

Home

Date & Time

Saturday, November 10, 2012 - 7:30pm

Location

Dock Street Theatre, 135 Church St.

Event Details

This concert will feature CSO Concertmaster, Yuriy Bekker, and his teacher, Herbert Greenberg, on violins to personify the profound impact of history and experience on new generations of music. As Concertmaster was inspired by his teacher, so was Ástor Pantaleón Piazzolla's Four Seasons of Buenos Aires influenced by The Four Seasons of Antonio Vivaldi. While both pieces include a set of four compositions, the centuries that separate them contrast beautifully. Piazzolla, a 20th century Argentine composer, scored the pieces for his quintet including elements of tango and traditional South American sounds to give the impression of the four seasons in Buenos Aires. Vivaldi's best-known work, which is among the most popular pieces of Baroque music, is a set of four violin concertos composed in 1723. Dock Street Theatre, 135 Church St. Saturday, 7:30pm. $40; $35 advance. (843)723-7528, www.charlestonsymphony.org

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, November 4, 2014 - 10:00pm
Friday, November 14, 2014 - 5:00pm to Saturday, November 15, 2014 - 5:00pm
Sunday, October 26, 2014 - 3:00pm
Wednesday, November 19, 2014 - 6:30pm
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, November 11, 2014 - 10:30am
Friday, November 14, 2014 - 8:00pm to 11:00pm
Saturday, November 8, 2014 - 10:00pm
Sunday, November 2, 2014 - 2:00pm
Thursday, October 23, 2014 - 7:30pm to Monday, October 27, 2014 - 7:30pm

Pages

Recent Comments
TWEETS